Brecknock Society and Museum Friends Logo

Brecknock Society and Museum Friends

Cymdeithas Brycheiniog a Chyfeillion yr Amgueddfa


Charity Registration No.518041 Rhif Cofrestru Elusennol

R O L A N D  M A T H I A S  P R I Z E

The Roland Mathias Prize was established in 2005, under the auspices of the Brecknock Society and Museum Friends, to commemorate the work and life of Roland Mathias, who played a major role in establishing Welsh writing in English as a distinctive literary genre. It was awarded biennially.

The Roland Mathias Prize has now been incorporated into the Wales Book of the Year competition, which takes place every year. The Wales Book of the Year has been restructured into three different sections – fiction, non-fiction and poetry – for works in both the Welsh and English languages. The Roland Mathias Prize will be the English language poetry prize. The overall winner will be chosen from the winners of the three sections.

The Brecknock Society and Museum Friends continue to play an active role in the new-style Roland Mathias Prize. We provide the money for the winning prize – which comes from the fund donated by Roland Mathias for this purpose.

The next Wales Book of the Year award ceremony takes place on June 26 2018, when the latest winner of the Roland Mathias Prize for poetry will be announced. The shortlisted writers are Nia Davies for All Fours, Matthew Francis for The Mabinogi and Robert Minhinnick for Diary of the Last Man.